You Know Those People Who Go Above and Beyond?

January 29, 2013 § 3 Comments

I am not one of those people. Especially when it comes to Cub Scouts.

Almost two and a half years ago our church bishop asked if I would volunteer to help out with the Cub Scouts around our neighborhood, “leading” the Bear Cubs as the Den Leader. These are terms you may not be familiar with. That’s okay. I had to learn them too. Bear Cubs = loud, distracted, obnoxious nine-year-old boys. Den Leader = responsible adult dedicated to pledging allegiance to the flag.

Little did I know that this volunteering would last for almost two and a half years. It really wasn’t a lot of work at all. Just–what’s the word?–annoying. You know, carving things out of soap with young boys I wouldn’t necessarily call my friends. Practicing skits that don’t really make sense. Talking about camping and crap:

“Teacher, how do you tie the world’s tightest knot?”

“I don’t know, guys. Go ask your dad.”

Last week, our bishop informed me that I didn’t have to volunteer anymore because he found someone else to replace me. I was free!

Well, tonight was my cubs’ Pinewood Derby. They’d been planning on this for like a whole month. I thought about going tonight and supporting them one more time as like a final goodbye. You know, “for the kids.”

But then I started watching The West Wing. And then I started making dinner. I got distracted. You could say intentionally.

Ah, well. I’m not one to get sentimental over these things.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to You Know Those People Who Go Above and Beyond?

  • Linda Boyce says:

    you probably missed a fun evening with those nine year old boys, I bet they loved you. How are you feeling?

  • Caryn Lesuma says:

    I just got released from Primary after a year of 17 seven-turning-eight-year-olds (yep. SEVENTEEN baptisms on Saturday mornings) and I didn’t feel much remorse. Yay for us! haha

  • Dani says:

    I’m near the end of season 3 on the west wing. What about you?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading You Know Those People Who Go Above and Beyond? at The Beginning of Mrs..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

