I’ve Married a Rhyming Santa Claus

October 12, 2010 § 3 Comments

Ryan saw the cherry chocolate kisses I had been carrying in my pocket. I had forgotten that I was saving them to eat later when I pulled them out of my coat pocket.

“Ho ho ho!” He said. “What are these? Cherry chocolate jubilees?”

No, Santa Claus. These are mine.

This next info is only for people who like words. You do not have to read on.

I looked up the word jubilee and found out it has a ton of cool definitions INCLUDING: a Black American folk song (religious song looking toward the future), a year of restoration celebrated every 50 years by early Jews (Hebrew slaves would be set free, land and homes would be returned to their rightful heirs), a year of remission from the consequences of sin (by the Roman Catholic Pope, originated by Pope Boniface VIII in 1300). I feel tempted to celebrate my own jubilee combining elements of all the definitions.

This is me celebrating all the jubilees in my own jubilee (keep in mind that I am shouting because this is a time for rejoicing and true rejoicing is always shouted):

“Give me back my stuff!”

“Here is your stuff back!”

“I am not black but I am singing songs by 2pac!”

“I WILL SIN AS MUCH AS I CAN FOR THIS SHORT PERIOD OF TIME!”

“I AM EXCITED! I AM OVERCOME! I AM EATING MANY MANY CHERRY CHOCOLATE JUBILEES!”

Ps. Jubilee is used nowadays as a celebration of special anniversaries. These anniversaries even have exciting names like silver jubilee (for 25th anniversary), golden jubilee (for 50th anniversary), and diamond and platinum jubilee (for 60th or 75th anniversary). Perhaps Ryan’s “these cherry chocolate jubilees” is referring to our month and a half–somewhere around there–wedding anniversary?

§ 3 Responses to I’ve Married a Rhyming Santa Claus

  • Kristi says:

    i’m pretty sure you mean you mean you’ve married a rhyming CATA

  • elyssa says:

    tara! haven’t talked to you in, um, years, but i just wanted to unanonymize myself as an internet fan.

    there. i don’t even know how i ended up on your blog, but i looooove to read the stuff you write. and congrats on marrying ryan, after all.

    • tara says:

      is this elyssa–traveling the world elyssa from liberty square?

      great to hear from you! thanks for the congrats and for checking out the blog. i am trying to look at your blog right now but can’t access it for some reason? i’ll try later.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’ve Married a Rhyming Santa Claus at The Beginning of Mrs..

meta

