26 Years Ago

November 5, 2010 § 1 Comment

My parents have been married for 26 years and two days.

Their first date over 26 years ago was like 12 hours long. They went to Fisherman’s Wharf on the San Francisco Bay.

I have since been to that Wharf–eaten clam chowder from a sourdough bowl, bought a few chocolates from Ghirardelli’s, imagined my young parents walking through the night and into the morning, telling each other their stories in a way they never could have before.

Since that first date, they’ve had their share of heartaches, but both of them still believe in soul mates. To me, that means everything.

On their first date my parents disagreed about what made the evening so romantic. My mom said it was the wind, but my dad said, “No no no, it’s the lights!”

My dad wrote a poem about it later (which I’ve memorized):

I thought it was the lights

But perhaps it was the wind

That swept us away

While the stars smiled

And we amazed

Felt it again

And again

And again

My mom still has a copy of the poem 26 years later. I think the end of the poem means more now than it ever could have then:

We amazed felt it again and again and again . . .

§ One Response to 26 Years Ago

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 26 Years Ago at The Beginning of Mrs..

meta

