My New Motto:

June 20, 2011 § 8 Comments

“Dear God . . . Let me be something every minute of every hour of my life.
Let me be gay; let me be sad. Let me be cold; let me be warm.
Let me be hungry. . . have too much to eat. Let me be ragged or well dressed.
Let me be sincere–be deceitful. Let me be truthful; let me be a liar.
Let me be honorable and let me sin.
Only let me be something every blessed minute.
And when I sleep, let me dream all the time so that not one little piece of living is ever lost.”

                                                                         -A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

I have only one chapter left in this book and I want to cry. (Not that I haven’t already. . .)

§ 8 Responses to My New Motto:

  • Jami HIrst says:

    I absolutely LOVE that book. I read it for the first time when I was about 12 and think I have read it at least 10 times since. Love your blog Tara!

    • tara says:

      Jami! I LOVE it so much and I love Francie and the Nolans and how they make me feel like I can get through my stupid work day and every day with so much to be grateful for. I am so happy you have read this–and so many times :) We will read it to our babies like Katie read Shakespeare to hers.

  • Anonymous says:

    This is the most ridiculous thing to de-lurk about, but I LOVE THAT BOOK WITH ALL MY HEART. Hi, Tara, I’m Amy–Megan and Sara Foster’s unknown (but awesome) older sister. I’m not quite sure how I found your blog, but I love it! I agree with you and relate to you about SO MANY THINGS! Anyway, I wasn’t going to say anything because heaven forbid I embarrass my sisters by stalking their friends… but I just had to after you mentioned you love this book. Because I seriously love it so much. Have a lovely day!

  • amylynne09 says:

    This is a random thing to de-lurk about, but I LOVE THIS BOOK WITH ALL MY HEART. Hi, Tara, I’m Amy, Sara and Megan Foster’s older unknown (awesome) sister. I’m not sure how I found your blog, but I love it! I can relate to you about so many things! I wasn’t going to say anything because heaven forbid I embarrass my sisters by blog-stalking their friends, but I just had to when you mentioned this book. Because it is SO AMAZING and I love it. Have a great day! :)

  • amylynne09 says:

    Also, I think I may have just posted that comment twice. If so, my bad.

    • tara says:

      Haha!!! Amy! I have heard so much about you, so you do not need to feel like a stranger. I LOVE your family even more than this book (which is saying a lot). I have met all of you except for YOU and your dad, I think. Your sisters are pretty much my favorite people in the world. (I just got a letter from Sara–don’t you miss her? I DO!!) Thank you so much for the compliments–I love finding out about new readers. WELCOME.

      • amylynne09 says:

        Oh, goodie! Yes, I miss Sara! And Megan, too, although I suppose at least I can talk to her whenever I please. You will have to meet my father sometime, too. He is the most comical of us all, but mostly because we like to laugh AT him.

        I’m glad you liked the comments–both versions. HAHA.

  • Kendal says:

    I need to read this book! What a beautiful idea–I should make that my motto too!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My New Motto: at The Beginning of Mrs..

meta

