Winner Goes to Whoever Can Figure This Out:

July 21, 2011 § 6 Comments

So sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night after a big dream.

After a dramatic attempt to grasp reality (after sitting up and figuring out where I am by touching myself and things around me), I ask myself this question:

Is this dream significant?

If the answer is no, I stop panting and go back to bed. If the answer is yes, I panic.

I hurry to write the dream down. Sometimes I don’t have a pen or paper, so I reach for my phone–all over the night stand–and then text the dream or the image to myself like a mad woman, before I lose it.

Sometimes I use these dreams or images for stories. Sometimes I use them for poems. Other times I use them for discovering again and again the creepiness of my unconscious.

I was going through my phone today and found this text to myself from months back:

“How do you know it’s not us? over the phone breathing above us. Movie trailer.”

What does this mean? And I don’t mean, interpret my dream, please. I mean, what was I trying to say? Ten points to Gryffindor if you can figure out (or make up) a plot behind this.

Also, one time my little sister Tressa woke up suddenly in the middle of the night and turned her face so fast, she hit it against the wall. Then she went back to sleep. Then she woke up and did the same thing again. Then went back to sleep. Then she woke up AGAIN, and did the same thing AGAIN. Then went back to sleep.

Dreams can really mess with you.

§ 6 Responses to Winner Goes to Whoever Can Figure This Out:

  • amylynne09 says:

    All I know is one time Sara woke up and had texted the word “Sheeple” to herself in the middle of the night, and it was really confusing to everyone.

  • amylynne09 says:

    Also, I just happened to notice that you are reading “Joy in the Morning” according to your sidebar… I ALSO just read that last week! Because I decided to read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn again, and then I realized she has other books! Anyway, I liked it, but not as much as the first one! :)

    • tara says:

      I read it too for the same reason. I agree. It’s pretty good, but not nearly as good as A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. I love Betty Smith though. I have a feeling she bases her main character in both books off herself because those characters–they’re just too real. I love them.

  • Steve Lents says:

    they can talk to us through our dreams you know, that’s all it is.

  • Juliana says:

    Tara, I can answer this..
    They traced the call… AND IT’S COMING FROM YOUR HOUSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Winner Goes to Whoever Can Figure This Out: at The Beginning of Mrs..

meta

