I am aware that I haven’t posted in like a month.

December 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

Not that I haven’t had anything to say, of course.

Let’s just say . . . I’ve been busy. But, just like I hate “catching up” with friends after summer, I hate catching up after no blogging. It’s so, what’s the word? ARTIFICIAL.

So, let’s jump right into things:

Received this email from one of my new favorite persons today. I thought I’d make it public because this girl fascinates me:

“Want to switch abstracts for 600? I just wrote mine last night at 1 in the morning, so I need to peer review before I turn it in. I will love you until the day I die…”

What makes this email so endearing to me is that it is only one of the few emails I receive from H—– each day: “How’s the paper coming?” “I haven’t even started either one of my papers yet.” “Hey, quick question:” “I hate the 5th floor. It is full of annoying hipsters that are loud and obnoxious. I AM HERE TO READ BOOKS AND WRITE A PAPER! I NEED TO BE HERE BECAUSE MY BOOKS ARE STOCKED HERE!”

Every email makes me laugh. Especially last week when she hadn’t even finished her research for a paper that was due for presentation that night:

“OH MY FREAKIN GOODNESS. TERRIBLE! I AM NOT EVEN DONE WRITING IT. I DON’T HAVE A THESIS. I STILL HAVE SEVERAL PARAGRAPHS TO WRITE. I HAVE NOT READ THROUGH IT.

In short, I am screwed.
How has your day been?”

The crazy thing is she’s like one of the most brilliant (and beautiful, but that’s besides the point) people I know. And when she read her paper in class, it was “very well-received.” Yet again, she triumphs!

 

Let me just say this: Though it’s taken a while to get here, as of last month, after two months of this FREAKISH ANXIETY ROLLER COASTER MASTER’S/TEACHING PROGRAM, I love what I do, what I study, what I write and learn. Like, I adore all of it, especially emails from H—-. I don’t want it to end. Well, except that I do want those semester breaks. Please, please, please, only one week till Christmas break . . . .

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am aware that I haven’t posted in like a month. at The Beginning of Mrs..

meta

